The rumson country day school, founded in 1926 as an independent educational institution, seeks; to provide students from ALL communities with a dynamic, challenging academic experience in a safe and supportive environment; to nourish academic excellence. Individual and social responsibility, civic awareness, and leadership skills; and to inspire our graduates to become life-long learners ABLE to thrive, contribute, and excel in a demanding secondary school environment and in today's global society. The rumson country day school was founded in 1926 by a group of families in the rumson AREA. This new school, called the rumson school, was located on the site of the former ST. Georges-on-the HILL church; the building and 2 1/2 acres of land were donated by edward DEAN adams, a neighbor and grandfather of one of the charter students. The school doors opened on november 1, 1926, with twenty-three pupils, a headmaster, five teachers, and three staff members. An educator named b. LORD buckley